The Haunted Hills by Berlie Doherty – Publishing UCLan

Desolate countryside, a lonely cottage and the ghost of a boy and his dog endlessley wandering the moors… I can’t resist a spooky tale and had been coveting this book ever since I first saw it shared on Twitter. So with the nights drawing in and the first of the blustery autumnal weather arriving, IContinue reading “The Haunted Hills by Berlie Doherty – Publishing UCLan”

Murder at Snowfall by Fleur Hitchcock – published by Nosy Crow

You can’t beat a thriller to get pulses racing and my Saturday afternoon was well spent, racing through the snow and furiously turning the pages of the latest trademark Hitchcock Whodunit – Fleur really is the Queen of Middle Grade Murder Mystery. Bodies, baddies, bitterly cold weather and a tangled web of lies and deceptionContinue reading “Murder at Snowfall by Fleur Hitchcock – published by Nosy Crow”

Alice Éclair Spy Extraordinaire: A Recipe for Trouble, by Sarah Todd Taylor – published by Nosy Crow

There’s such a buzz about this book at the moment! My fellow bloggers have been raving about this scrumptious new spy series and now I know why – Alice Éclair really is a legend in the baking! I wanted some pure escapism to officially start the school holidays and with my appetite well and trulyContinue reading “Alice Éclair Spy Extraordinaire: A Recipe for Trouble, by Sarah Todd Taylor – published by Nosy Crow”

Once Upon a Fever by Angharad Walker, published by Chicken House Books.

‘Disease begins with a feeling Miss Darke. It has been that way ever since the Turn – when people’s feelings started making them ill…’ After being completely captivated by Angharad Walker’s critically acclaimed first novel The Ash House last summer, I was very excited to be offered the opportunity to review Once Upon A Fever.Continue reading “Once Upon a Fever by Angharad Walker, published by Chicken House Books.”

Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor – An Eerie on Sea Mystery. Published by Walker Books

It’s nearly the summer holidays and I was ridiculously excited to be granted an early mini-break in the legendary seaside town of Eerie on Sea. And my goodness… there was never a dull moment! Creepy wax works, a conniving villain a colossal clockwork robot reminscent of Ted Hughes’ Iron Man…adventure drips from every sea-soaked page.Continue reading “Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor – An Eerie on Sea Mystery. Published by Walker Books”

Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim, Published by Knights Of.

‘A Story don’t start where we tell it you know…’ Perfect for fans of Fireborn, The Crooked Oak Mysteries and Dreadwood, Alake Pilgrim weaves an intricate web of mutant creatures, fantastical gifts, folklore, friendship and adventure. This felt like Christopher Edge meets the Caribbean and as with Escape Room, there was many a moment inContinue reading “Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim, Published by Knights Of.”

The Riddle of the Sea by Jonne Kramer, Published by Piccadilly Press

I’m absolutely thrilled to have been invited to join the blog tour for this gripping sea adventure and better still, get the opportunity to ask author Jonne Kramer some questions about some of her inspiration behind the book. Featuring stunning illustrations by acclaimed illustrator Karl James Mountford and translated from Dutch by Laura Watkinson, Carnegie-MedalContinue reading “The Riddle of the Sea by Jonne Kramer, Published by Piccadilly Press”

Wolf Bane by Michelle Paver – Published by Zephyr Books.

‘A howl rose in Wolf’s throat. It ended in a whimper.’ Is this the end for Wolf? All is revealed in the edge of your seat conclusion to the Wolf Brother series that has wowed millions of readers worldwide. I was a Newly Qualified Teacher when Michelle Paver gave us the gift of Wolf backContinue reading “Wolf Bane by Michelle Paver – Published by Zephyr Books.”

The Girl in White by Lindsay Currie – Published by Source Books.

A town full of legends, an unforgettable curse and a ghost determined to change their fate. I love a good ghost story and Halloween is one of my favourite times of year, so cue ridiculous excitement when I saw that The Girl in White was available on Netgalley and realised that I could get anContinue reading “The Girl in White by Lindsay Currie – Published by Source Books.”

Dread Wood by Jennifer Killick, Published by Farshore Books.

Detention has never been so deadly… Quite rightly dubbed the queen of Middle Grade horror, Jennifer Killick brings us her newest hair-raising adventure Dread Wood and it could be her best yet. Think Eight Legged Freaks meets Tremors, it’s Goosebumps with a fresh new feel for the tweens of today. Creepy caretakers, eeerie school grounds,Continue reading “Dread Wood by Jennifer Killick, Published by Farshore Books.”

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started