Murder at Snowfall by Fleur Hitchcock – published by Nosy Crow

You can’t beat a thriller to get pulses racing and my Saturday afternoon was well spent, racing through the snow and furiously turning the pages of the latest trademark Hitchcock Whodunit – Fleur really is the Queen of Middle Grade Murder Mystery. Bodies, baddies, bitterly cold weather and a tangled web of lies and deceptionContinue reading “Murder at Snowfall by Fleur Hitchcock – published by Nosy Crow”

Alice Éclair Spy Extraordinaire: A Recipe for Trouble, by Sarah Todd Taylor – published by Nosy Crow

There’s such a buzz about this book at the moment! My fellow bloggers have been raving about this scrumptious new spy series and now I know why – Alice Éclair really is a legend in the baking! I wanted some pure escapism to officially start the school holidays and with my appetite well and trulyContinue reading “Alice Éclair Spy Extraordinaire: A Recipe for Trouble, by Sarah Todd Taylor – published by Nosy Crow”

Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor – An Eerie on Sea Mystery. Published by Walker Books

It’s nearly the summer holidays and I was ridiculously excited to be granted an early mini-break in the legendary seaside town of Eerie on Sea. And my goodness… there was never a dull moment! Creepy wax works, a conniving villain a colossal clockwork robot reminscent of Ted Hughes’ Iron Man…adventure drips from every sea-soaked page.Continue reading “Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor – An Eerie on Sea Mystery. Published by Walker Books”

Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim, Published by Knights Of.

‘A Story don’t start where we tell it you know…’ Perfect for fans of Fireborn, The Crooked Oak Mysteries and Dreadwood, Alake Pilgrim weaves an intricate web of mutant creatures, fantastical gifts, folklore, friendship and adventure. This felt like Christopher Edge meets the Caribbean and as with Escape Room, there was many a moment inContinue reading “Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim, Published by Knights Of.”

The Girl in White by Lindsay Currie – Published by Source Books.

A town full of legends, an unforgettable curse and a ghost determined to change their fate. I love a good ghost story and Halloween is one of my favourite times of year, so cue ridiculous excitement when I saw that The Girl in White was available on Netgalley and realised that I could get anContinue reading “The Girl in White by Lindsay Currie – Published by Source Books.”

The Extraordinary Colours of Auden Dare by Zillah Bethell – Published by Piccadilly Press

Imagine a world without colour… Auden Dare is an ordinary eleven-year-old in most respects except for one. He cannot see colour. But when Auden uncovers a secret in his uncle’s shed, an extraordinary mystery begins to unravel – one that could change the future of the world and Auden’s life forever… The Shark Caller wasContinue reading “The Extraordinary Colours of Auden Dare by Zillah Bethell – Published by Piccadilly Press”

The Secret of the Treasure Keepers

A.M.Howell I am really rather partial to Middle Grade World War 2 stories. There’s just something about the era that never fails to captivate me, perhaps because it’s a time that belonged to my beloved grandparents. The Valley of Lost Secrets, Midnight Guardians and When the Sky Falls are some of my very favourite booksContinue reading “The Secret of the Treasure Keepers”

The Bird Singers

Eve Wersocki Morris The birds were watching them. The girl could sense their small, bright eyes tracking their every step… This was a deliciously dark, utterly gripping debut brimming with folklore, a thrilling mystery and dash of horror. The Bird Singers is perfect for fans of recently released Fledgling and Aveline Jones – there’s creepyContinue reading “The Bird Singers”

The Horror of Dunwick Farm

(The Crooked Oak Mysteries) Dan Smith Illustrated by Chris King Mystery and horror with a sprinkling of sci-fi, The Crooked Oak Mysteries have become a firm favourite of mine. So when the latest fast-paced, novella-length adventure landed on my doormat on Christmas Eve, I couldn’t wait to get stuck in. I adored Goosebumps as aContinue reading “The Horror of Dunwick Farm”

The Forgotten Crown

A Tales of Truth & Treasures Story James Haddell The wait is over! More myth, magic and mystery awaits in the second fast-paced instalment of the highly acclaimed Tales of Truth & Treasures Series. It’s almost a year to the date that I posted about the amazing first book in the series The Lost Child’sContinue reading “The Forgotten Crown”

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started