The Haunted Hills by Berlie Doherty – Publishing UCLan

Desolate countryside, a lonely cottage and the ghost of a boy and his dog endlessley wandering the moors… I can’t resist a spooky tale and had been coveting this book ever since I first saw it shared on Twitter. So with the nights drawing in and the first of the blustery autumnal weather arriving, IContinue reading “The Haunted Hills by Berlie Doherty – Publishing UCLan”

Murder at Snowfall by Fleur Hitchcock – published by Nosy Crow

You can’t beat a thriller to get pulses racing and my Saturday afternoon was well spent, racing through the snow and furiously turning the pages of the latest trademark Hitchcock Whodunit – Fleur really is the Queen of Middle Grade Murder Mystery. Bodies, baddies, bitterly cold weather and a tangled web of lies and deceptionContinue reading “Murder at Snowfall by Fleur Hitchcock – published by Nosy Crow”

Wranglestone by Darren Charlton – Stripes Publishing

Wow! Just wow! I could not put this down at all! Wranglestone has got to be one of my reads of the year so far and possibly my favourite Young Adult book ever! If you read one book this summer let it be this! Thrilling zombie apocalypse meets a truly gorgeous gay love story; it’sContinue reading “Wranglestone by Darren Charlton – Stripes Publishing”

Alice Éclair Spy Extraordinaire: A Recipe for Trouble, by Sarah Todd Taylor – published by Nosy Crow

There’s such a buzz about this book at the moment! My fellow bloggers have been raving about this scrumptious new spy series and now I know why – Alice Éclair really is a legend in the baking! I wanted some pure escapism to officially start the school holidays and with my appetite well and trulyContinue reading “Alice Éclair Spy Extraordinaire: A Recipe for Trouble, by Sarah Todd Taylor – published by Nosy Crow”

Once Upon a Fever by Angharad Walker, published by Chicken House Books.

‘Disease begins with a feeling Miss Darke. It has been that way ever since the Turn – when people’s feelings started making them ill…’ After being completely captivated by Angharad Walker’s critically acclaimed first novel The Ash House last summer, I was very excited to be offered the opportunity to review Once Upon A Fever.Continue reading “Once Upon a Fever by Angharad Walker, published by Chicken House Books.”

Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor – An Eerie on Sea Mystery. Published by Walker Books

It’s nearly the summer holidays and I was ridiculously excited to be granted an early mini-break in the legendary seaside town of Eerie on Sea. And my goodness… there was never a dull moment! Creepy wax works, a conniving villain a colossal clockwork robot reminscent of Ted Hughes’ Iron Man…adventure drips from every sea-soaked page.Continue reading “Festergrimm by Thomas Taylor – An Eerie on Sea Mystery. Published by Walker Books”

The Boy Who Rescued a Rainbow by Corrina Campbell, Published by Little Door Books

The Girl Who Stole the Stars became an instant hit in my Reception classroom so I was thrilled to learn that Corrina Campbell had penned a perfect companion; The Boy Who Rescued a Rainbow. What does it mean to be strong, brave and fearless? When a little boy finds a broken rainbow lying on theContinue reading “The Boy Who Rescued a Rainbow by Corrina Campbell, Published by Little Door Books”

Her Dark Wings by Melinda Salisbury, published by David Fickling Books.

Heddy, intoxicating, intense and totally unputdownable, this is Young Adult fiction at it’s very best! Melinda Salisbury has reimagined the Persephone Myth and infused it with contemporary romance in the most thrilling and compulsive of ways. Heartbreak, hatred, jealousy and obsession combine with Ancient Greek lore, resulting in a deliciously dark, highly addictive read. GreekContinue reading “Her Dark Wings by Melinda Salisbury, published by David Fickling Books.”

Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim, Published by Knights Of.

‘A Story don’t start where we tell it you know…’ Perfect for fans of Fireborn, The Crooked Oak Mysteries and Dreadwood, Alake Pilgrim weaves an intricate web of mutant creatures, fantastical gifts, folklore, friendship and adventure. This felt like Christopher Edge meets the Caribbean and as with Escape Room, there was many a moment inContinue reading “Zo and the Forest of Secrets by Alake Pilgrim, Published by Knights Of.”

Slug Love by Cath Jones, illustrated by Craig Shuttlewood. Published by Maverick Books

Slug would LOVE to be the gardener’s best friend, but how can he win her love? Will chomping heart-shaped holes in her favourite plants send the right message, or will he end up in the Bucket of Doom? A tale of an optimistic slug in pursuit of an unlikely friendship. Today I welcome author Cath Jones toContinue reading “Slug Love by Cath Jones, illustrated by Craig Shuttlewood. Published by Maverick Books”

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started